Banana Chocolate Caramel Cake

18 08 2009

I have a long list of recipes filed, printed, handwritten & stored in a variety of ways, all ready to be selected when the mood strikes for a particular ingredient or just to try something new.  One of the best places to find something new or different is online.  The following bundt cake recipe is from one of my favourite blogs www.crepesofwrath.net

It seems that I rarely make this type of cake anymore, these days all my cakes are usually for a client and are to be carved up and covered in fondant.  I decided on this particular recipe as I love the combination of banana, chocolate & caramel and I don’t use my bundt pan very often.

I made some amendments to the recipe but I’ve posted the whole list with notations of which ingredients I omitted or substituted.

Check out the first use of the cup, saucer & side plate that I bought at the Newtownabbey Shoreline Festival.  I just love the blue flower pattern.

Banana, Chocolate, and Caramel Bundt Cake from http://www.thecrepesofwrath.net

3 cups unsifted all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I omitted)
1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg (I omitted)
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves (I omitted)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
3 large eggs
1 1/4 cups canola or other neutral-flavored oil (I used vegetable oil)
1 3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract
1/2 cup coarsely chopped toasted pecans or walnuts (I omitted)
4 ounces bitter or semisweet chocolate chips or chunks
4 ounces butterscotch chips (I used chopped white chocolate buttons)
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (I used 3)
Powdered sugar (for dusting)

Caramel:
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
4 tablespoons (2 ounces) unsalted butter
2 tablespoons milk

– Preheat oven to 180C/ 350F.  Grease and flour a 12-cup (10 inch) nonstick bundt pan

– In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, salt and baking soda.  Set aside.

– In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the eggs, sugar, vanilla extract, almond extract and oil.  Mix on medium speed until well combined, scraping the sides of the bowl if necessary.  Slowly add the flour mixture, about 1/2 cup at a time until fully incorporated.  I found that the mixture became very sticky as I added more flour, I had to keep my mixer on low to finish adding the flour.

– Remove the bowl from the mixer and fold in the mashed bananas, nuts and chocolate chips by hand.

– Spread the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 50 – 60 minutes or until a tester inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.  My cake took a about 70 minutes to cook completely in the middle and that meant a little burning around the edges.  Next time I think I would need to adjust my timings and oven temperature, perhaps even cover the top of the cake to ensure the middle cooks without burning the top.

To make the caramel:

– A few minutes before the cake is done, combine the brown sugar, milk and butter in a small saucepan, bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring until the sugar dissolves.  When the sugar is bubbling vigorously and is a medium amber colour remove from the heat.

– Remove the cake from the oven and set on a cooling rack.  With a long thin skewer or cocktail stick, poke holes all over the cake.  Pour the hot caramel all over the cake , gently pushing the cake away from the sides of the pan to allow the caramel to soak the top and sides of the cake.

– Cool cake until warm to the touch then unmold onto a serving dish.  I unmolded mine too early so it had a slight crumble incident but it still tasted wonderful.

– Slice and dust with icing sugar.  We enjoyed ours with a lovely cup of tea but coffee would be a nice counter to the sweetness of the caramel and chocolate.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

