Cakes

24 08 2009

Here are a few of my favourite cakes from the past few years.  I consider these my best and each time I attempt a new design I learn a new skill or find out how not to make a certain feature work.

My cousins 13th birthday cake.  This was a copy of the real guitar he got for his birthday and my first attempt at a guitar.  I was really pleased with how it turned out and the birthday boy loved it.

My first ever baby shower cake.  The booties on this cake were tough to master.  I was lucky to find a tutorial with templates on www.cakecentral.com which helped a lot.

This is a simple number cake that I was given free reign to design however I wanted.  Covering the numbers with fondant was more difficult than I had anticipated but I was happy with the results.

This is a birthday present wrapped cake for a 40th birthday.  I used this fabulous tutorial to help me with the bow http://www.cakeboss.com/FondantBowTutorial.aspx

This was a joint birthday cake for a father and son, their favourite hobbies were cars and weight-lifting.

A 1st birthday cake based on the little girls favourite teddy Mrs Duck.

One of my favourite cakes is this heart shaped chocolate box that a colleague ordered as a surprise for his wifes birthday.  It was a copy of the one that Bakerella made for Valentines Day.

http://bakerella.blogspot.com/2009/02/valentines-day-gift-box-of.html

I used a dense chocolate cake to make the box and the ‘chocolates’ were made with the cake scraps mixed with icing, formed into chocolate shapes and coated in different types of chocolate.  These cake truffles are a great way to use up cake leftover after carving a design.


Actions

Information

7 responses

25 08 2009
cappy66

Hi! I’m from A Dozen Eggs.
Love your cakes, very beautiful. I’m making my first cake with fondant in October. I only hope it looks as nice as all your cakes.
(although I doubt it will!!)
Have a great night and thanks for the link.
L

27 08 2009
leangel

Wow, I love your site and your cookies are AMAZING. Thanks for taking time to drop by and comment. I’m happy to link to your fab site, I only wish I could hop over the water and get to sample some of your work or visit your shop!

26 08 2009
irene(mum)

cakes absolutly faantastic, but I already knew that(my daughter is a genius)!!!!!!!!.

27 08 2009
leangel

Cheers for the big up mum!

28 08 2009
Emma

That baby shower cake is the cutest thing ever!!!!

13 09 2009
Lee Munroe

Wow, these cakes are fantastic! And is this only a part time hobby?

15 09 2009
leangel

Thanks Lee, unfortunately it is only part time. I work full time and am in my 2nd year of an accounts course so I’m trying to fit the baking around that. It’s my long term goal to be working in the baking field or have my own business. I don’t know how long it will take to get to that point but it’s something I want to work towards. Cheers for the comment!

Leave a comment