Portuguese Custard Tarts

30 08 2009

These little beauties are kind of fiddly to make but well worth it for their lovely creamy custard and flaky pastry taste.   The last time I attempted these I made a glaring error when it came to making the pastry cases and was left with some comical puff pastry snail like shapes and exploded custard.   If you don’t want a repeat of my pastry snails I will stress the importance of following all the steps carefully and do not try to cut corners by cutting the circles directly from the pastry.  All we become clear when you see the recipe below!

Portuguese Custard Tarts from The Australian Women’s Weekly Mini Bakes

1/2 cup (110g) Caster Sugar

2 tablespoons cornflour

3 egg yolks

3/4 cup (180ml) milk

1/2 cup (125ml) cream

1 vanilla bean, split lengthways

5cm strip lemon rind (I omitted this as I didn’t have any lemons)

1 sheet ready-rolled puff pastry (I used a block & rolled it myself)

– Preheat the oven to 220C/200C fan forced.  Grease a 24 hole mini muffin pan.

– Combine the sugar & cornflour in a medium saucepan.  Gradually whisk in combined egg yolks, milk & cream.

– Scrape the vanilla seeds into the custard and add the rind.  Stir over a medium heat until mixture just comes to the boil.  Remove from the heat and discard rind.  Cover the surface of the custard with plastic wrap while making pastry cases.  (It’s important to cover the surface completely,  not just the bowl as a skin will develop on the custard)

– Cut pastry sheet in half; place two halves on top of each other.  (I cut the block in half and rolled each part out separately before placing them on top of each other)  Roll pastry up tightly from long side.

– Cut the log into 24 rounds.

– Roll each pastry round on a floured surface to approx 6 or 7cm diameter.

– Using a 6cm cutter, cut rounds from the rolled out circles.  Press pastry into pan holes.

– Divide custard among pastry cases (I used approx 1 tsp per case)

– Bake for about 12 – 14 minutes.  Turn onto a wire rack to cool.  Serve dusted with a little sifted icing sugar.

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 08 2009
Ivan

mmm! reminds me of my Portuguese holiday when I would buy the custart tarts every morning, They were sold from baskets like crossiant. Happy memories!

22 09 2009
SweetThingsTO

Wow – that is a lot of work to make those. They look amazing!

23 09 2009
leangel

Thanks for the comments!

15 03 2010
Dried Basil

Do try it with the lemon – you want the outermost layer of the peel and not the pith – it really gives the custard some bounce. Also, you could try infusing half a cinnamon stick at the same time.

16 03 2010
leangel

Hi, thanks for your comment. I did use the lemon the first time I made these & didn’t really taste the difference but perhaps the lemon wasn’t particularly strong or I didn’t use enough. I’m afraid many of the people I share my baking with are not fans of either cinnamon or nutmeg so I tend to avoid them when baking. It stops me from eating them all myself if I have willing tasters!

Leave a Reply

