Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes

14 01 2010

My fabulous online friend Jenn sent me a huge parcel full of Oreos as she knew I couldn’t get any but the plain ones over here.  To save myself from eating every single one I decided to incorporate them into some baking.  I chose the Mint Oreos as I wanted to make a chocolate themed cupcake.

Recipe after the cut…

The basic cupcake recipe was one I hadn’t tried before and I’ve yet to find a standard chocolate cupcake recipe that I can use as a base for a variety of additions.  I will try this recipe without anything added to determine if it’s my new go-to chocolate recipe but it worked beautifully with the mint flavouring.

No Nonsense Chocolate Cupcakes from Cupcake Magic by Kate Shirazi

Makes approx 12

60g/ 2 oz/ 1/2 cup self raising flour

60g/ 2 oz/ 1/2 cup good quality cocoa powder

1 tsp baking powder

110g/ 4 oz/ 1/2 cup caster sugar

110g/ 4 oz/ 1/2 cup butter (softened)

2 large eggs

2 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 160C/ 325F/ Gas Mark 3.  Line a 12 hole muffin tray with cupcake liners.

Sift the flour, cocoa powder & sugar into bowl of mixer.  Add the butter and eggs and beat until light and fluffy being sure to stop the mixer and scrape down the sides when needed.

If the mixture seems stiff add a little of the milk at a time.  The batter needs to be dropping off the spoon but not too wet.

At this point I added some crushed mint oreos to the batter and mixed well.

Spoon the batter into the prepared cases and bake for 20 minutes, until the tops are firm and a skewer inserted into the cupcakes comes out clean.

While the cupcakes cool, make the buttercream.

Simple Chocolate Buttercream also from Cupcake Magic

1 and 1/2 cups icing sugar

scant 1/2 cup butter

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Beat everything together in mixer bowl for a few minutes until well combined.  This is a plain buttercream but to make a rich chocolate buttercream, melt 2 oz of good quality, high cocoa content chocolate and mix into the buttercream.  As I wanted a double mint flavour I scooped the mint centres out of about 6 oreos and mixed them into the buttercream.

Top each cupcake with the buttercream, add a few crushed oreo sprinkles and a quarter of a mint oreo.

They taste like Mint Choc Chip Ice Cream, the mint is subtle and compliments the chocolate and there is a refreshing aftertaste.  This is definitely a recipe I will try again, I just need to find a regular supplier of Mint Oreos!

Actions

Information

One response

14 01 2010
yopopo

Sound amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

