Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

17 02 2010

As usual life outside of my baking world has severely encroached on my blogging time. The next few posts are a catch up on what I’ve been doing over the last month but I’m afraid they will mostly be pictures.  I hope to update at a later date with recipes.

First up are Lemon Meringue Cupcakes.  These bittersweet bad boys were the very first cupcakes I tagged in one of my many baking Christmas presents:  Cupcakes Galore by Gail Wagman.  I highly recommend this book, along with Cakes Galore by Phillipa Vanstone and Valerie Barrett.  They are both jam packed with a great range of flavours and fillings, from the super simple to the darn complicated.  

I cheated a little by using shop bought lemon curd but my reasons were two-fold, I was baking several items at once so my time was very tight and also, I’ve made lemon curd twice before and it wasn’t very successful, as this was a new recipe I thought I’d keep it simple. 

The lemon cupcake was lovely, the lemon curd was nice and tart, the only disappointment was the meringue.  I had hoped for something a little firmer and it was quite soft.  I would have liked to add a lot more of the topping but in order to cook a large amount the whole way through the tops would have been extremely burnt.  This is something I want to work on when I next make these cupcakes.  I might even make some traditional meringues and attach them with some curd to the top of the cupcake.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

