Picture Post: Cake Extravaganza

15 10 2010

So once again I’ve neglected this blog.  A combination of life & work getting in the way of other pursuits.  I have also been experiencing problems with my netbook meaning I couldn’t get images uploaded.  All very pitiful excuses but thems the breaks. Onwards and upwards….this is basically a picture post of recent cakes with a little blurb about each one.  I do hope to get back on track with the blogging but I said that the last time, and we all know how that turned out!

This cake was for an 80 year old who loves watching the birds feed on her bird table.  I was given free reign with the design as long as it included a bird table and Robins (which are her favourite bird)  Sometimes I prefer to work from a very specific design, other times I prefer to be free to do what I want & in this case I was so happy with the outcome.  The cake is vanilla with raspberry and vanilla filling.  The table is fondant covered cake with handpainted woodgrain effect.  The robins are rice crispie treats covered in white fondant and hand painted with paste food colours.  The seeds are fondant.

Further pictures and the rest of the cakes are after the jump:

Mickey Mouse Clubhouse for a 1 year old’s birthday party.  This was a fun one to make as it involved some Mickey research.  I realised afterwards that the door/foot is actually a lot bigger and more curved in the show but it really didn’t bother the birthday boy or his parents so it’s not worth worrying about.  I’ll know for the next time!

I’m not going to tell you what this cake was as I actually don’t remember!  I’m leaning towards vanilla but it could just as easily have been chocolate!  I was so pleased with the fondant work on this one, how neat is my base and lettering?!  I am completly enamoured with my tappits letter sets after a few years of cursing them up and down the kitchen because I could not get them to work for me.  I’ve just ordered a third set, it’s an addiction, don’t judge me.

These decks were for my cousin’s 21st birthday.  He loves music and would love to be a DJ so my aunt and uncle surprised him with this decks cake.  He thoroughly enjoyed eating the headphones once he found out they were edible. The cake is chocolate with vanilla filling. All fondant decorations except the headphones which are a mix of rice crispie treats and fondant and I also used some silver dragees around the base of the turntable. I learnt a few lessons with this cake, mostly that I need to let some modelled work dry longer and I need to get a better comb for drawing lines on my records, this one wouldn’t play a single note the lines are so badly etched onto the record!

And finally we have a strawberry cake for a 1st birthday.  This was a fun one to create, it’s quite a simple design but so effective with the indentations and pips of the strawberry really giving it some punch.  The cake is vanilla with raspberry and vanilla cream filling.  All decoration is fondant, the stalk has rice crispie treats inside and is held in place with a skewer.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 10 2010
littlepinkkitchen

You are SO talented, Leah. I’m in awe!

15 10 2010
leangel

Thanks so much! What a lovely comment, great start to the weekend!

22 10 2010
Filipa

Hello Leah, I’m Filipa from Feathers of Inspiration, Northern Irish blog. It’s been great to discover your blog! You are indeed so very talented! 🙂 Do you do this as your day time job? Because if not, you should! 🙂

Leave a Reply

