Picture Post: Latest cakes

26 11 2010

Yet another speedy post to add a few recent cake pictures.  I’m not sure I should even make excuses for my bad blogging behaviour because I’ve left it so long and I’m not sure how long it will be until my next one.  I do have a few posts in progress and a possible competition but feel I should wait until I have more time to devote to it properly.  In the meantime some cake pics to tide you over.

This cake was a lot of fun to design and create.  It was for a friend on twitter who was the 2nd person ever to follow me and for that I am truly thankful, I’ve met a lot of wonderful tweeps through her and discovered a whole world of kitsch that I didn’t even know existed.  Her hubby and son are pretty darn fabulous too.  The brief was a retro caravan with Michael written on the board.  I may have got carried away with the additions but I couldn’t resist as I knew a few of his favourite things and wanted to make it personal for him.  I was also lucky enough to see his reaction as his mum kindly videoed it for me.  That was a lovely treat for me as I often don’t see the recipient’s delight when they see the cake for the first time.

This most recent cake was for a friend I work with.  I made her a decorated cake last year so this year I decided to concentrate on flavour rather than design.  She has a fondness for Reese’s Peanut Butter cups so I thought I’d try to incorporate peanut butter into the cake.  I scoured my multitude of baking books and found the ultimate peanut butter cake. 

It’s from All Cakes Considered by Melissa Gray which was an impulse purchase from Urban Outfitters.  Yes, I am the kind of person that gets a gift card for a clothing shop and manages to buy yet another baking book with it!  It’s a great book with wonderful side storys to each cake and personal notes from the author on adapting or perfecting the recipe.  Great for a beginner or amateur to build up their flavour repertoire. 

I chose the Heaven and Hell cake , so called for it’s alternate layers of Devils Food Cake and Angel Food Cake with a peanut butter mousse filling and milk chocolate ganache coating.  It is decadence personified and I can’t even imagine the calorie count in each slice (so I don’t!)  I used my own vanilla cake recipe for the Heaven layers and Melissa’s recipe for the Hell layer.  I was pleasantly suprised that the Devil’s Food cake was as moist as my usual recipe as she uses coffee instead of sour cream in her mixture. 

I’m not a fan of peanut butter so I didn’t try the cake myself but it received great comments, best of all from the birthday girl and it is definitely one that I’m adding to my choice of flavours.

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 12 2010
Candace Walsh

What an amazing cake! I love it. Blown away.

23 12 2010
leangel

Thanks Candace, it was fun to try and figure out the logistics and design of the caravan. It was definitely one that I felt didn’t pull together until the last minute but I was so pleased with how it turned out!

6 04 2011
Dawniepants

Hungry now!
I’m seriously comissioning your mad skills for my birthday cake!!!

Leave a Reply

