Toffee Apple Cake

27 11 2010

This cake was a last minute bake when I realised I had a large leftover Bramley Apple from my Chutney making this morning.  Inspired by the crisp, snowy weather I decided I wanted something autumnal and this simple cake was the perfect choice.  The recipe is from my very first baking book called simply Baking by Catherine Atkinson & Juliet Barker.  It’s a great book for beginners with full page recipes alongside full page pictures with additional step by step images for many of the recipes.  Although I have 60+ books now, it’s still a book that I return to for classics and this is one of those that I have made several times.

Toffee Apple Cake

2 small eating apples, peeled (I used one large Bramley apples)

4 tbsp soft dark brown sugar (I used muscovado sugar)

175g/ 6 oz butter or margarine

175g/ 6oz caster sugar

3 medium eggs

175g/ 6oz self-raising flour

150ml/ 1/4 pint double cream

2 tbsp icing sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla essence

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon (I omitted this)

– Preheat the oven to 180C/ 350F/ Gas Mark 4.  Lightly oil and line the bases of 2 x 8 inch/ 20.5 cm sandwich tins with greaseproof or baking paper.

– Thinly slice the apples and toss in the brown sugar until well coated.  Arrange them over the base of the prepared tins and reserve.

– Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

– Beat the eggs together in a small bowl and gradually beat them into the creamed mixture, beating well between each addition.

– Sift the flour into the mixture and using a metal spoon or spatula, fold in.

– Divide the mixture between the 2 cake tins and level the surface.

– Bake in the preheated oven for 25 – 30 minutes until golden and well risen.  Leave in the tins to cool.

– Lightly whip the cream with 1 tablespoon of the icing sugar and vanilla essence.

– Sandwich the cakes together with the cream.  Mix the remaining icing sugar and ground cinnamon together, sprinkle over the top of the cake and serve.

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 11 2010
Siobhan

I have a strong suspicion this is what I will bake for the departmental bake sale on Tuesday. Awesome.

30 11 2010
leangel

Hi Siobhan, thanks for subscribing & commenting. I look forward to hearing about how your cake turned out for the bake sale. It’s a tasty autumn cake, I hope you enjoy it & it makes lots of money!

30 11 2010
Siobhan

Was a smash hit! Won best cake easily, was the first to go, and therefore raised a significant portion of our Movember money. Wahey! As a baking novice, I am also endebted to this recipe for being quite simple yet outputting something which looks complicated and therefore helping me gain the unearned respect of my baking peers. Hee. 🙂

30 11 2010
leangel

Brilliant news! So glad it went well & I’m extremely happy to hear that it helped raise more money for such a good cause. It’s great to find a recipe that’s straightforward but looks & tastes like a lot more work went into it.

Leave a Reply

